A Guide to Char Dham Yatra

Revered as one of the most sacred pilgrimages in the world, the Char Dham Yatra entails a journey to four divine abodes nestled amidst the mighty Himalayan peaks. This spiritual odyssey is a profound expression of devotion, as pilgrims embark on a sacred quest to seek blessings from the purest incarnations of Hindu deities – Ganga, Yamuna, Vishnu, and the mighty Shiva.

The Char Dham Yatra, translating to 'the journey to the four abodes', takes pilgrims through the breathtaking landscapes of the North Indian state of Uttarakhand. Often referred to as 'Chhota Char Dham' to distinguish it from the larger circuit of Char Dham sites, this pilgrimage holds immense significance in Hindu mythology and spirituality.

The journey begins with Yamunotri Dham, dedicated to the goddess Yamuna. Nestled in the pristine Himalayan terrain, this sacred site offers devotees the opportunity to cleanse their sins and attain spiritual purity through a dip in the holy waters of the Yamuna River.

Continuing the pilgrimage, the path leads to Gangotri Dham, the birthplace of the sacred river Ganga. Here, pilgrims pay homage to the divine mother Ganga, seeking her blessings for purification and liberation from worldly attachments.

Next on the pilgrimage route is Kedarnath Dham, revered as the abode of Lord Shiva. Perched amidst the snow-capped peaks and lush valleys, this temple holds the highest located Jyotirlinga, radiating divine energy and spiritual resonance.

Finally, the journey culminates at Badrinath Dham, dedicated to Lord Badri (Vishnu). Situated along the banks of the Alaknanda River, this majestic temple stands as a beacon of spiritual enlightenment, inviting pilgrims to experience the divine presence of Lord Vishnu in all his glory.

Throughout the Char Dham Yatra, pilgrims embark on a transformative journey of self-discovery, devotion, and spiritual awakening. The sacred sites of Yamunotri, Gangotri, Kedarnath, and Badrinath serve as portals to the divine realm, offering seekers the opportunity to transcend the mundane and connect with the eternal essence of existence.

In the serene embrace of the Himalayas, amidst the chants of sacred hymns and the fragrance of incense, the Char Dham Yatra unfolds as a timeless pilgrimage of faith, devotion, and divine grace.

So, where and how do you start on your Char Dham Yatra?

Char Dham yatra opens on the auspicious day of Akshay Tritiya of Chaitya month and remains open until Bhai Dooj. The complete yatra will take you 11 to 12 days. If time permits, there are a lot of other diversions such as Gaumukh, Tapovan, Along valley, Bhauravnath Temple, Vasuki Tal, Chopta, Auli, and Hemkund Sahib. You can choose to start your yatra from Delhi, Haridwar, Rishikesh, or Dehradun, according to your convenience. Delhi, being the capital, is connected to all major cities. It is also just a 4-hour train ride away from Haridwar.

Envision a panoramic view that unfolds like a vivid painting: the Turquoise Ganga, a sun-kissed river of sheer beauty that harmoniously complements our resort, providing an oasis of cool, fresh air carried by the enchanting breezes originating from the sacred Ganges. Immerse yourself in the invigorating embrace of this pristine environment, where both body and soul are revitalized.

Chardham Start Dates:

  • Yamunotri– 14 May 2021
  • Gangotri– 15 May 2021
  • Kedarnath– 16 May 202
  • Badrinath– 17 May 2021